Remotely delete files from any device
Remotely delete files from any device in vBoxxCloud
When users install desktop clients and apps on their computers, desktops, and mobile devices, they are asked to register these machines to their user accounts. After registration, the user's selected personal and Team Share data will sync down and become available on that device.
Remote Wipes
If a user loses a computer or mobile device, administrators can unlink the compromised device from the user account, thereby protecting synced data from unauthorized access. This technique is called a Remote Wipe, and is especially useful in organizations that need to comply with certain rules and regulations, such as HIPAA.
Deleted User Accounts
Additionally, when an end user resigns or is terminated from an organization, administrators can delete the user account from the system. When an entire user account is deleted, all associated computers, laptops, and devices will be unlinked (remotely wipe). Administrators will be given the option to retain the user's synced data in the vBoxxCloud server.
Instructions
How to unlink (Remotely Wipe) a machine in the Machines Tab
Use the Machines tab to unlink a machine from a user account.
- 1In the Organization navigation menu, select the organization in which you want to manage machines. The selected organization displays.
- 2Click the Machines tab. The Machines tab displays, showing a list of all machines in the selected organization.
- 3In the Machines tab, click the drop-down arrow to expand the appropriate machine.
- 4Click the Unlink button to unlink the machine form the user account.
- 5In the Unlink Machine pop-up window, click the Remove Files From User’s Machine radio button to remove the files from the user’s machine.
- 6Click the OK button when you are finished.
Unlink a machine from a user
- 1In the appropriate organization, click the Accounts tab. The Accounts page displays, showing a list of all user accounts in the selected organization.
- 2While you are still on the Accounts page, click on the appropriate user account. The account information will be shown. Under the Machines tab, click on the cross next to the machine that needs to be unlinked.
Delete entire Account
- 3As a follow up from the previous step, you can also delete the entire account and unlink all associated machines. In the Accounts tab next to the user, click on the trash icon "Delete".
You will be asked whether or not you would like to keep account files on the server, account files on the user's machine, and/or Team Share files on the user's machine.
- 4Click OK to confirm.
Related articles
Our support team in the Netherlands answers by email and phone.
